## MANAGEMENT DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS

## **ESG** → **Governance**

## **Scientific Advisory Board**



Dr. Goverdhan Mehta

Dr. Mehta is a globally recognised organic chemist. He is currently University Distinguished Professor and Dr. Kallam Anji Reddy Chair at the School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad. He holds a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Pune University and has conducted his post-doctoral research at the Michigan State and the Ohio State universities in the USA.

Dr. Mehta has been a CSIR Bhatnagar Fellow, National Research Professor as well as the Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, and Vice Chancellor of the University of Hyderabad. He has mentored over a hundred doctoral and post-doctoral students and published nearly 550 research papers. He has over 50 prestigious awards and honours to his credit, nationally and internationally. He has been conferred D.Sc. by over a dozen universities in India and overseas.

He was awarded the civilian honour, Padma Shri, in 2000 by the President of India and Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur in 2004 by the President of France. Dr. Mehta was conferred the 'Order of Merit-Commander's Cross' by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2016. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and several Academies and Societies around the world. He is a former President of the Indian National Science Academy and the International Council for Science (ICSU). Mr. Mehta has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Prime Minister of India.



Dr. Axel Kleemann

Dr. Kleemann has in-depth knowledge and experience in research and development, production, engineering and drug safety. He was the Director of Corporate Organic Research of Degussa AG (now Evonik Industries) for over 10 years. He was appointed as a member on the management board of Asta Medica AG with the responsibility of research and development, production, engineering and drug safety till 2000.

Besides being a board member in various organisations and scientific societies in Germany, Dr. Kleemann was the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Protagen AG from 2001 to 2017. He was also a member of advisory boards of several biotech and fine chemical companies. He is the co-author of the standard reference book, Pharmaceutical Substances (5<sup>th</sup> edition and online version), as well as a member of the editorial board of Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. He is an Honorary Professor of Chemistry at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt. He holds a Ph.D. degree in Chemistry from Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main.



Dr. K. Nagarajan

Dr. Nagarajan has over 59 years of experience as a Research Chemist. He was the Head of Medicinal Chemistry at Ciba-Geigy Research Centre and Director, Searle R&D Centre, both in Mumbai. He is a recipient of the Bhatnagar Prize in Chemistry and LifeTime Research Award from the Chemical Research Society of India. He spearheads the scientific research initiatives at Hikal. He has been associated with several national research institutions such as the CSIR Central Drug Research Institute, scientific agencies such as the Department of Biotechnology and projects of the Ministry of Earth Sciences.

Dr. Nagarajan is B.Sc (Hons) in Chemistry from Loyola College, Madras, and Ph.D from the University of Madras. He is a post-doctoral fellow from Wayne State University, Detroit, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, and Zurich University, Zurich.